Table for one

Table for one.

I’ve made many mistakes. It appears that I am paying for them now. There are so many lonely people in the world. I never would have thought that I’d be one of them.

I see dogs running in the park, happier than I’ll ever be. I see hundreds, thousands of beautiful young women. They do not see me.

If I could live forever, what would I need a soul for anyway. But nothing comes for free. Except being kind to others. I have not been very good at that. And it continues to cost me.

Time runs away and my end is closer with each tick. Could be the next moment, be my last. Or, even yours.

So, as I sit here alone, eating my lunch and drinking my beer, I ask for forgiveness to the ghosts haunting my memories. I smile at the strangers walking past my table. And I tip the waitress well.

I’m not worried about Heaven. I like to pretend that hell doesn’t bother me either. It’s all the stuff that happens before it that I think is the only thing worth my tears, my love or my bones.

About magnumturtle

I write fiction.
This entry was posted in Daily writings and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

