Fooled

Fooled.

It’s April again and the day was cold. There were clouds drifting here and there, but there was still plenty of blue and sun. It had started out to be a bit of a hard day. I have a cough and I felt weak from too much drinking from the night and day before. That day, I was already feeling down. I hadn’t showered for two days and I pulled the bottle from the shelf early, just before 2 that afternoon. There was 1/4 left when I started and I emptied it and fell asleep in my chair. When I woke up my feet felt swollen in my sneakers so I left them untied as I walked to the store for a fresh bottle and more beer. My mouth tasted bad and my teeth felt thick and filmy. The girl that serves me fried chicken, who is normally spiritful, appeared sad to me. I asked no questions and only pointed out the pieces of bird for her to put in the bag. After the deli counter I did not meander, but went straight for the booze and beer then back out to my apartment again. The whole day was unpleasant for me. So, as soon as I got in the door, I got into the bottle and cracked a beer. It was sometime after midnight when I noticed I nearly emptied half that bottle. I drank a lot that night, but didn’t feel drunk. At least not drunk enough. That’s the way it is sometimes. The booze gets less and less effective. Just enough to do its damage one way or another. It would be a fitful night. The cough. The cold coming through the thin glass of the old windows. I could probably use some new pillows and the sheets are pretty tired too. I first checked the time it was 522. I rolled over, slept for a while. Shifted again, slept for a while more. This was endless. Checked the time again, 547. Two hours later I gave up and went out to the couch. I was not hungover, but I still wasn’t right. I was trembly and weezed short shallow breaths. I turned on the t.v. and folded the blanket around myself. It felt like hours had gone by, but it was only a little after 9. Eventually, hours had passed and I showered and went for a walk. There were lots of people out walking like me. The cool air and sun did me good. Much better day than the day before. As I smiled or gave a nod to the people I saw, I wondered if there was a half empty bottle on their shelf. Were their sheets tired too and did their beds ever get as cold and lonely as mine. I hoped not, but I also hoped so.

About magnumturtle

I write fiction.
This entry was posted in Daily writings and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

